Chances at getting (Amgen, SURE, SURF, REU, etc.) biomedical sciences/engineering internship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bme_wannabe

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm just trying to figure out how feasible it would be to get into a REU/Amgen Scholars/other research-based program for summer 2017 to see which ones I should apply to in the coming months. So here's some background info about me so hopefully some people can throw some advice my way on whether or not I'm competitive for such high-caliber research programs:

-I'm a sophomore at Saint Louis University majoring in biomedical engineering and minoring in French with a 3.82 GPA.
-I'm involved in Biomedical Engineering Society, Engineering Health Collaborative (EHC), and a service and faith group on campus called Micah.
-For 3 summers I worked for a company testing a device that purified blood components which was approved by the FDA. It was only a dry lab, though.
-I should be able to get solid LORs from my Computing, Mechanics, and maybe Calc III professors.
-This and last semesters I've been working in preliminary lab work on a new research project through EHC aimed at synthesizing an antimicrobial pattern through electrospinning. We will be at the bench for the first time next week.