Chance for 7/8 year programs

behindthesteelcurtain

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! This is my first post on here. I just finished my junior year of high school and I was just wondering what my chances are of getting into various 7 and 8 year guaranteed medical programs:

SAT: 1510 single sitting, 1530 superscore (1600 scale)

SAT II: 720 Math, 720 Bio M

GPA: 3.95 (3.47 unweighted)

Volunteering: running my own redcross blood drive (6,7,8,9,10,11,12), special Olympics (7,8,9,10,11,12), community service with the mentally challenged (7,8,9,10,11,12)

Experience: Shadowing a physician (internal medicine) (11,12), Shadowing a radiologist (9,10,11,12), Shadowing a NICU doctor (11,12), Medical assistant (11,12)
Side note: I also applied to join my local ems crew. However, I have no research experience

Extracurricular: 3 year junior Varsity wrestler (8,9,10)

AP's taken: Bio (3), Psych (4), Physics 1 (3), Enviro (next year), Stat (next year)

I am not applying to any top tier or super competitive programs because I know I will not get in. My top choices right now are the 8 year programs at Drexel and Hofstra

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
I am interested in programs like these too! At Depaul they offer direct admission if you maintain a 3.5 your first year, you should apply! Please pm for more questions

Back in the day, I applied to SLU's medical scholar program (8-year conditional acceptance), UMKC's BA/MD program (6-year combined program), as well as UAB's BS/MD program (7-8 year combined program). Check these out.

I was accepted at the first two, and wait listed at UAB.

I don't know how the new SAT works. What percentile are you? Your unweighted GPA may be a bit low for these programs, but you may still be fine. I'm no expert in gauging high school academic success vs. combined programs, though. lol. Take everything I say with a grain of salt.

Good luck!

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)