Career changer to DPT with the GPA Blues

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Member888838

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Apologies, I posted this previously in the PT section when I should have posted here instead. Anyways, wanted to come to this forum to get some feedback for the cliché question, “What are my chances?” I am a 31 year old that works in the field of finance looking to make a career switch into Physical Therapy. This is a decision that I have been thinking about for quite some time now, and I have become absolutely committed to the prospect of it, so I feel that now is the time to get things rolling. While, I have no direct field experience, I have several close friends in the field that I have informally shadowed (and could easily do so formally, as one of them runs his own private clinic now). That said, I face some challenges ahead;

Cum GPA: 2.816

GRE: 1210 AWA: 4.5 (on 2 other tests I scored a 5)
Science courses taken:
Bio: 1.7 (ugh, I know)

So naturally, I have some concerns. I still have yet to take the majority of science prerequisites, which I view as a positive, a chance for redemption if you will. From the schools that I have contacted thus far, they mentioned that they will take the highest retaken score for the science GPA, but I am still worried that the PTCAS science GPA might be reflected negatively because it incorporates all science grades. Has anyone had experience with this or know of an admission committee’s viewpoint?