Career Change to Epidemiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

epi_phd_seeker

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I studied maths and economics as an undergraduate, and I'm currently doing research in economics. During my research, I stumbled upon the field of epidemiology while solving a model using survival analysis, and I've became interested in it.

My apologies if this has been asked before, but my questions are:

1. How can a person, with close to zero background in public health or epidemiology, find out if the field of epidemiology is for him? I attempted reading journals published by different epidemiologists, but I'm starting from scratch that I don't even know where to begin. I'm not a student anymore, so asking random professors in nearby universities doesn't sound like a good option either.

2. If I'm interested in mathematical modelling of diseases and is looking for academic/research career path, it is my knowledge that I need a PhD in epidemiology. How can I prepare for PhD in epidemiology, with a focus in programming and constructing mathematical models? I'm not really interested in lab experiences or fieldwork (yet). If it is relevant, I'm well-versed with many programming languages (R, Stata, Matlab, C++, Python, etc) and had good undergrad GPA (>3.9) from top 15 university. I've written papers during undergrad and now as a research associate, but they are all in the field of economics.

3. Pertaining to question 2, I've read that most people go through MPH before doing PhD in epidemiology. However, I'm financially constrained. How common is funding for MPH? It would be great if someone can point me to resources that I could look at. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user