Career advice on MBA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dkgrubby

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am just starting to get interested in the healthcare business administration side of things. I have always been a business minded person and feel like this would be a great option to look into. I don't know too much about mba have did some research on it. But what career prospects can I expect graduating with a MBA? Also what kind of salary can I expect? I graduated with a biology degree and was thinking about pursuing the MBA option. Is it a viable choice? I have basic work experience in hospital mainly with the insurance and receptionist side of things.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I would like to ask an ancillary question to this topic for those MD's who have attained an MBA. I am an American but took a year off in undergrad to study abroad. I'm currently finishing up medical school. I've always wanted to return to that university and obtain an MBA. I had planned on doing so after residency. It's a one year program. My question, is it a bad idea to take a year off to do a full-time MBA program for one year after residency? I don't want my clinical skills to diminish but timeline-wise, I want to do that program before my life takes off with marriage/kids/etc. I know there is great MBA programs in the US but I just want to go back to my old university and study for a degree there. Can anyone offer me some seasoned advice? My main concern is coming back and being rusty at medicine and wishing I hadn't taken the time off.
Thanks in advance!