Cardiology research as a med student question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDO08

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm got some questions about research for a future in cardiology as I'm really interested in interventional cardiology (I shadowed in this a lot). I'm a DO student and performed very well my first year and keep an open mind about specialties but keep getting drawn back to the idea of cardiology. I know research is highly valued for cardiology fellowships but I'm wondering if it matters the type. Would writing a review article and getting it published in the field of cardiology be acceptable or is it better as a basic science? I am going into my second year of med school and can reach out to see if there are more opportunities but I'm not in an area or school that has a lot of resources for research and will focusing heavily on boards this year as that's the priority.

What happens if you write a paper and submit for publication but it never get published. Does this count as research but not as a publication? Would doing a poster over a review article you write help and count on your application? I've read it's best to match into IM with a strong cards fellowship. Would it be better to do research during residency? Would cards fellowships care about research from med school?

Thanks for reading and even more so if you have advice. I never had the opportunity to do research in undergrad as I was kind of a non trad so this is newer for me but I'm eager to work in the right direction

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Members don't see this ad.