Canadians at Aussie schools!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WolfLarson

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a Canadian student. I do not particularly care about returning to Canada for residency. If I get a residency in Canada, great, if not then I will go to wherever I get one. I am currently at around a 3.6 GPA (my university has a 9.0 point scale, so conversions are confusing and since I did them myself they might be way off).

I was wondering what the situation is like for Canadian students who go to study in Australia. Can they get residencies in semi-competitive/competitive specialties (ie gen surg)? Is it possible to get residency at all without being an Australian citizen?

Please help!

Members don't see this ad.

Okay..
I think I've more or less responded in the other thread, which ended up being a general discussion on offshore schools.

Also, try to avoid posting the same thing twice in this forum - but good call on making a new one, rather than derailing someone else's. I noticed this same one in another Australia med thread in here.

I do not particularly care about returning to Canada for residency. If I get a residency in Canada, great, if not then I will go to wherever I get one. I am currently at around a 3.6 GPA (my university has a 9.0 point scale, so conversions are confusing and since I did them myself they might be way off)
that's great.
always be flexible and have an open mind.

By the way, Singapore is just about always hiring native English speakers with Australian degrees. If you don't mind going there. As discussed in the other thread, it's a bit up in the air with regards to staying in Australia after grad.