Canadian Student and questions about SGU/SABA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WolfLarson

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I have been avoiding SDN for a few years now, as I get anxious when reading the posts of the geniuses who post here.

I have heard of the AOA/ACGME merger and that this may cause a decrease in residency spots for caribbean applicants.

I would like advice.

I am a Canadian student doing my second degree (we don't really have many post-bacc options here in Canada other than doing a second undergrad if you screw up your first one). I screwed up my first degree due to being immature and wholly unprepared for university (I did not know how to study, did not have the mental fortitutde, spent too much time chasing girls). In my second degree I have been able to score A+/A's in most of my courses. I have obtained 2 B's and 2 B+'s throughout my second degree (not all in one semester) and have knocked full year courses out of the park (that is 6 credits for a full year course). Here is the thing though, my school uses a weird 9 point GPA scale (and a letter grade that appears on your transcript) so converting to a 4.0 GPA is confusing. However, from my calculations I obtained a 3.6 this last year (I scored all A+'s and A's first semester and one A+, one A, one B+ and one B in second semeste). I could have scored higher but I was feeling burned out and tired during this second semester, but I believe if I was more 'fresh' I would have done better.

The reason I describe the above situation is, if I went to a school like SGU or SABA would I be able to be in the top students and match into categorical Gen Surg (I will obviously continue working hard)? I don't particularly care about coming back to Canada, and thus am open to training in US.