Canadian Citizen, Medical School Abroad, way to re-enter

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dreezy416

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I am a canadian citizen. i left canada to come study at a medical college abroad. here the course is 5 years long and students get in right after highschool. also there is a 1 year of internship which the foreign students are not obligated to take (im considered a foreign student here at my medical college). so i basically skipped my undergrad years. im in 4th year of my studies here, and i need your help in returning back to my homeland, canada. btw im only 21 years old, so my level of experience will not be up to par with a lot of yours so any and all assistance will be greatly appreciated.

how does the MCC work?
when do i start taking them?
what other exams are there?
basically, what is the whole licensing procedure?
(i know, i know, im a noob still, thats why im here looking for your help :-3)
where do i send my papers for evaluation?
as a canadian citizen, what advantages do i have over pure foreign IMGs? over pure locals (canadians having studied in canada)?
my end target is surgery, orthopedics/cardio-thoracic/general basically any type of surgery where my hands will be good at...so what are your suggestions for that?
how can i arrange clerkship and internship in a canadian institute?
im flexible with moving across canada so any preferable province where it may be easier?

again thanks for helping me out with this.

a little background about me:
i made it to the premed in UofS, and i studied at Mac for 4 months (sem 1 of year 1 - life sciences). got into UOttawa for biomedical, as well as RyersonU and University of Regina.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone