Can we stop being our own worst enemies?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

El Curandero

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright I'm going to step on a pedestal for a second,

Why do DO students always have to put themselves down? I have never heard a MD/MD student ever say anything bad about DOs. In fact every time I mentioned I was a DO student MDs have seem interested and have made positive comments. So why is it when you bring up OMM or DO pride that most DO students make a snide remark? Do you not believe in the clinical benefits of muscle energy, counterstain, or myofascial release? If you don't than I guess you don't believe in physical therapy.

The world is different today than it was 50 years ago. DO schools are competitive and there are a lot of (good) students who applied for 5 cycles before they got in. We were the catalyst for the whole patient centered care approach. You don't have to settle for a rural family medicine residency if that is not what you want. Hell if you want that big university training program score high on the boards like everyone else who gets in those programs and don't look back.

I'm not saying that there aren't things that we have to tackle (cranial for example) but I think one of our major problems is us burning our own houses down.

El Curandero

Edit: Grammar

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 15 users
I suspect that my students (and I consider all of you my students) are merely frustrated with the limitations of OMM/OMT and the lack of scientific support for its notions, the hagiographic treatment of AT Still, and the near religious beliefs that some DO faculty have towards OMM/OMT. And then there's the lack of having a teaching hospital and thus having to travel around for rotations. So I understand the frustration.