California State University MFT Program Competition?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rainygirl14

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking to apply to several CSU MFT programs for Fall 2018, and I am trying to figure out if I am a competitive enough candidate to even apply. My interest in CSU is primarily because of location and lower cost.

I graduated from UC Merced in 2015 with a BA in Psychology, 3.3 GPA. I have not been working since I graduated. I have been volunteering with Crisis Text Line for over a year, have more than 200 hours of crisis counseling experience with them, and can get a letter of rec. Remaining letters will come from profs, and I'm not sure how strong they will be. I haven't taken the GRE yet, which is obviously a big missing component for some schools.

I have narrowed down my Top 8 CSU choices:
  • San Jose State (Clinical Psychology) No GRE
  • Cal State East Bay (Counseling) GRE
  • Sacramento State (Counseling) No GRE
  • San Francisco State (Clinical Psych or Counseling) No GRE
  • Sonoma State (Counseling) No GRE
  • Cal Poly SLO (Psychology) GRE
  • CSU Stanislaus (Counseling) GRE

I haven't been able to figure out how competitive each of these schools are, or how competitive I would be. At this point, I want to know if it is even worth applying, since my GPA isn't awesome, and my only clinical experience is through online volunteering.

Background: I have chosen the MFT route because it seems to fit my interests more than MSW. Additionally, I am highly considering applying to a PhD program when I am done with my master's. I have decided to do master's first because I am definitely not competitive for a PhD (no research) and I want to get a usable degree ASAP at this point. I am also afraid of entering a PhD, regretting it, and leaving with nothing to show for it. This way, I will have 2 years to figure out if the PhD is what I really want to do.