CACREP questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DynamicDidactic

Still Kickin'
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I tried searching the forums but could not find anything recent. I have a few questions about masters-level licensure:

1. Are there any states that ONLY allow CACREP accredited training programs? It seems only about half of the states mention CACREP but most accept it as one form of training but allow for many variations.

2. It appears that psychology is slowly being phased out of masters-level training. How (un)common is it to have programs that are designed for LPC or LPC-like (not Social Work or MFT) training staffed mostly by psychology faculty rather than counseling faculty?

3. What exactly is "counseling" rather than "psychology"?

Members don't see this ad.

ACA publishes a guide to state licensure and the requirements that my current CAGS program sent to us. A quick browsing of the guide:

1. There are a handful of states that only accept CACREP accredited programs and a few who are implementing CACREP only in later years (2022 for example). Some states approve applications if you graduated from a CACREP program but will review coursework from non-CACREP and if equivalent will approve it. It's similar to states who expect APA for psychology licensure but if you didn't go to APA program the onus is on you to prove equivalent training.