BU or Umass

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

4malit

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm really sorry for posting this on here, but I wanted to crowd-source this question because I don't have anyone else to talk to regarding medical school.

I am deciding between BU and UMass for medical school. I'm a MA resident, hoping to practice in MA (and maybe do residency in Boston). My factors for deciding right now are, in order:

1. how well each school prepares you for Step 1
2. availability of research
3. cost

There's some weird factors also. My dad works at BMC so I get small perks like parking for free. Umass will be 88k cheaper (22k*4 years - just tuition/fees) because I have enough saved to cover any difference in cost of living.

That's all the huge points I can think of. If there's anything factors that people normally wouldn't think of, please let me know. Thank you in advance :)

Members don't see this ad.

does free parking at BMC cover the 88k difference????????????? lol

If those are the only "huge points" you can think of, go UMass.
1. people always say it is individual motivation and hardwork that prepares for step1, not necessarily the school.
2. going to UMass does not stop you from doing research at harvard, BU, tufts, or UMass.
3. cost...88k difference.

Umass for sure.

Members don't see this ad :)
if I wanted to definitely work in a Boston hospital (BW, beth israel, MGH), how can I connect with physicians from those hospitals?

if I wanted to definitely work in a Boston hospital (BW, beth israel, MGH), how can I connect with physicians from those hospitals?

What do you mean how can you connect with those hospitals?

If you want to match there you need to do well on steps and do a rotation in the specialty you want to do residency in as an away rotation there.

Do you get a tuition break at bu because of your dad?