Biochem pathways

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted647690

I never took biochem II, so I never learned about metabolism. I studied for the mcat last summer and memorized some of the pathways, but have forgotten them (never ended up taking the exam). I am studying again now for my test in July, and I would not be able to tell you all of the intermediates in any of the pathways.
I pretty much have just read through the BR chapters and watched khan academy videos, but I don't feel like I have retained much. I could probably analyze a pathway in a passage if it was given to me.

Do you think I'd be okay just memorizing the overall reactants/end products for each pathway and the regulatory steps? I think I'm okay forfeiting the one discrete that might require knowledge of the intermediates if it means I don't need to spend 4999 hours trying to cram the pathways into my head so that I can just forget about them the next week (especially when I could be doing other mcat practice).

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Don't know about you, but I've been passively watching AK lectures on Youtube and he's amazing when it comes to biochemistry. Give that a try.

Reactions: 1 user
Don't know about you, but I've been passively watching AK lectures on Youtube and he's amazing when it comes to biochemistry. Give that a try.

I like his lectures too, and that's how I've been approaching biochem; just passively watching stuff and writing things down once. But I haven't really drilled the pathways into my head or anything like that

Members don't see this ad :)
If it helps, for the TCA cycle the mnemonic "Officer Can I Keep Selling Sex For Money" is fairly useful to memorize "Oxaloacetate, Citrate, Isocitrate, a-Ketoglutarate, Succinyl-CoA, Succinate, Fumarate, and Malate."

Reactions: 1 user