Best use of $40k – student loans, taxable account, or 529?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nebulus2012

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am looking for advice regarding the best way to utilize some extra cash from a recent real estate sale.

A bit about myself – I am a resident who has ~ 15 months left in my training, and my wife is a pharmacist currently at home with our new daughter. We have 340k of student loans between us, consolidated a variable rate that is currently ~5%.

Our roth IRAs are both fully funded for 2017, and my 401k will be fully funded by the end of the year. These are our only current investments.

Question #1 – From the home proceeds, we are planning on putting a large chunk aside for a down payment on our next home. So, my first question for is what would be the best place to park this money for ~12 months? I was thinking a high-interest savings account (maybe via an online-only bank?) or a 12-month CD.

Question #2 – After the down payment is put aside and we put some cash towards student loans, we’ll have ~$40k extra left over from the sale. Should we just put more towards our student loan principal? Or should we start a 529 for our daughter? Or should we start a new, post-tax/taxable retirement savings account with Vanguard? Maybe a mixture of these options?

Thanks guys! Any and all advice is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

What a nice problem to have. And how refreshing to get questions from somebody who knows what they are doing.

1. High interest savings internet account like Ally or Capital One 360. Reasoning: you need the money in 12 months, so risk of investment loss won't justify reward of investment gain.

2a. Wow, you maximized your tax advantaged accounts and still have $ left over? Nice. Do you have 3 months of expenses saved up for emergencies yet? If not, set aside that much in the same kind of bank as question 1.