Best State to establish Residency for Medical School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NTF

Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Idea for this thread came from a response to someone else's thread. Especially for nontrads trying to give themselves the best chances, what state is the best to get residency in?

I haven't investigated all the states but I'm an Ohio resident. I have to say I think Ohio is a pretty sweet state to apply to medical school in. We have 7 medical schools, 6 allopathic and 1 DO.

1. Wright State - heavily favors instate applicants (instate tuition)
2. NEOCOM - heavily favors instate applicants (instate tuition)
3. U of Toledo - somewhat favors instate applicants (instate tuition)
4. Ohio State - ranked #30, does not favor instate (instate tuition)
5. U of Cincinnati - ranked #40, does not favor instate (instate tuition)
6. Case Western - ranked #25, does not favor instate (same tuition instate or OOS)
7. Ohio University (DO) - somewhat favors instate (instate tuition)

while Case, Cincy, OSU don't favor instate applicants, if you get a job at one of these places you can get a little homefield advantage. For example:

1. If you do post-bac or graduate work there they will respect your coursework.
2. You'll be able to cull LORs from people who are actually faculty at those schools
3. You'll be able get to know people in the Admissions office on a personal level.

Members don't see this ad.

I've seen this idea before, & think that the factors that would probably be considered for "best state to be from" would be:

# of student seats reserved/primarily for instate, like you'd mentioned Wright State (took classes there years ago), I have a better chance of interview @ Harvard than I do as an OOS applicant at Wright State, per MSAR.