Best Laptop for viewing DICOMs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RadDVM

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was hoping I could get your opinions about which new MacBook Pro would suite a radiology resident best. I just matched to a veterinary diagnostic imaging residency this year and I am contemplating buying a new MacBook Pro. I am having a hard time deciding if spending the extra money on the 15" Pro makes sense. Let's start with the pros: 1. It has a larger screen (maybe better to view studies on) 2. It has a better graphic set up because there is RAM that is dedicated to running the graphics, 3. It has a quad-core processor as opposed to a dual-core processor that is in the 13" Pros. Now for the cons: 1. It is about a grand more for similar models and as a veterinary resident I'm not going to be pulling down a ton of cash.
As for what I plan to do on it: I will be on call every 3rd week meaning that I need to have something to look at images on if I am not at home (I have a Mac Desktop at home). I also will be using it to store digital copies of texts on as well as reading journal articles.
If anyone has any personal experience with either of the MacBook Pros and wouldn't mind sharing some advice that would be great.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi RadDVM, I have both a 13" (2013; no dedicated GPU) and now a 15" (2015; AMD Radeon R9 M370X). I'm selling the 13" on Craigslist. My advice: Get the 15" - it's a noticeable difference in productivity. Not so much in viewing a single image, but in having multiple images/windows open at the same time. The dedicated GPU provides a tremendous improvement in graphics performance. Viewing 2D DICOM slices doesn't rely on the GPU, but if you plan on rendering any 3D models it's a no-brainer.