Below Average Undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

waltlindseyworld

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there! I'm new to SDN, so apologies if this has been posted before.

I could use some advice. I'm currently in my freshmen year of undergrad, majoring in psychology. My goal is to go to med school and become a psychiatrist. I was homeschooled for high school, and I feel like that has really held me back. Right now I'm taking a developmental math class to get me where I need to be. I'm pretty okay with the sciences, so I don't think biology classes will be a problem for me.

Here is where I'm struggling. The picture in my mind is that med school students are all brainiacs who graduated top of their class and went to ivy leagues. I'm going to a community college for my AA before transferring to a state university to finish out my BA. I'm a solid B student. Am I at a disadvantage when it comes to med school?

I know it's not going to be easy, but I'm ready to put in the work. I could use all the advice I could get! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there! I'm new to SDN, so apologies if this has been posted before.

I could use some advice. I'm currently in my freshmen year of undergrad, majoring in psychology. My goal is to go to med school and become a psychiatrist. I was homeschooled for high school, and I feel like that has really held me back. Right now I'm taking a developmental math class to get me where I need to be. I'm pretty okay with the sciences, so I don't think biology classes will be a problem for me.

Here is where I'm struggling. The picture in my mind is that med school students are all brainiacs who graduated top of their class and went to ivy leagues. I'm going to a community college for my AA before transferring to a state university to finish out my BA. I'm a solid B student. Am I at a disadvantage when it comes to med school?