Base Excess/Deficit As Surrogate For Fluid Status

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wickedskillz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How many of you use the Base Deficit/Excess as a surrogate for fluid status? If you do, what conditions do you use it in?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think the most likely rationale seems to be as a surrogate of lactic acidosis, as a surrogate for tissue perfusion. The thought is if they have a strong base deficit (say -6), then give fluid. The trauma people will also make sure the base deficit is "Clearing" or "normalizing" or "downtrending" when making decisions about adequate resuscitation. I remember as an intern my renal attendings used to hate it. Just seeing what the opinion is out there and if anyone uses it for anything, and why. I personally think the ABGs always have a Lactate level on them anyway, and I can use that as a direct measure of lactic acidosis, then work on figuring out the cause. I think if u use base deficit as a direct surrogate for tissue perfusion, you could be missing other causes of metabolic acidosis

I never used base deficit for anything.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

The short answer is "NO". You need to ask why the patient is acidotic-- it could be an RTA...? Most patients who are in hypovolemic shock or distributive shock will be acidotic with a base deficit, but not all acidotic patients are acidotic because of hypovolemia. You can develop hyperchloremic acidosis after a big NACL load.
You can calculate amps of bicarb a patient is short: weight in kilos x 2/3 x base deficit = MEQ of HCO3 short. However this does not mean that you replace the whole deficit (or even any of it).
Parse out the CAUSE of the deficit!

Reactions: 1 user