Bad undergrad and maybe medschool vs mbbs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RMR630

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm currently a junior at a school in Southern California, and I am deciding on where to go to study medicine. I am a fairly good student, I got a 2280 on the sat but I have a 3.1 unweighted gpa and 3.7 weighted gpa. I know I won't get into a good undergrad because my school is competitive. So should I stay and going to an average undergrad and have a chance of getting into med school or go to India. I go to India very often so I have no culture adjustment issues, but in terms of education style how does it compare(teaching style,textbooks,labs). I am fairly happy in India so I wouldn't mind postgrad there. Also would you guys recommend manipal or Apollo which is located in Hyderabad near where I live but idk if it is nri friendly. Thx in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone, I'm currently a junior at a school in Southern California, and I am deciding on where to go to study medicine. I am a fairly good student, I got a 2280 on the sat but I have a 3.1 unweighted gpa and 3.7 weighted gpa. I know I won't get into a good undergrad because my school is competitive. So should I stay and going to an average undergrad and have a chance of getting into med school or go to India. I go to India very often so I have no culture adjustment issues, but in terms of education style how does it compare(teaching style,textbooks,labs). I am fairly happy in India so I wouldn't mind postgrad there. Also would you guys recommend manipal or Apollo which is located in Hyderabad near where I live but idk if it is nri friendly. Thx in advance

Hey RMR630,

I'm from East Coast myself, went to undergrad in NJ, and now graduating this year from a Caribbean Medical school. My family is from Pakistan so I understand the whole going to India/Pak for medical school.