Away Rotations: Where to apply/chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a traditional allopathic MD grad from the east coast (mid 50s school ranking), Step 1 246, ranked in the top half of the class, HP mostly everything, but passed medicine. Don't have step 2 scores yet. Did some research in undergrad (2 main projects), and then currently doing some with an OBGYN faculty here. No publications currently, but have 3 poster presentations and 2 abstracts. I plan to apply broadly later this year; but wanted some guidance on away rotations. I would like to be in NY/Boston/Bay Area given family/spouse reasons (none of which are areas even remotely close to where my current med school is located).

Would doing aways at a top 10/20 program (SF, Columbia, Harvard) be wasting my time?

Members don't see this ad.

I think doing away rotations are a great idea. I did 3 sub-Is my 4th year of med school. Two were awesome, and one was a really bad experience. I received interview offers at the two places I had great experiences at and would be elated to match to either place, and did not receive an interview offer from the less than desirable experience (only applied because they said an interview was basically guaranteed if you did an away there; I would have certainly ranked it last if at all).