Are starting salaries declining?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

runner618

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all-

I know the debt to income ratio is always a hot topic on this thread. I'm in my last year of PT school and have had a few job offers from networking and past clinicals. I know PT isn't a highly paid field, but I was a little shocked that the starting salaries were less than 70k (range of offers: 62-68k). The projected growth with experience didn't seem much either. These jobs were also in different parts of the country (Boston, DC, Michigan)..are we starting to see a decline in salary due to declining reimbursements? I'm finding that salaries being offered are 10-15k less than what I see an "entry level PT" should be paid.

Members don't see this ad.

Starting pay has always been around $60 - $65K. I need to update my survey to include the latest responses, but you can see that the numbers didn't really change much, if at all, from year to year.
Salary Survey (new grads)

If you go into home-health or travel PT, you'd make more. Or go to a rural/semi-rural area - it's supply and demand.

After some research, According to the bureau of labor statistics, the entry level salary has been $66k since 2008. I guess the correct answer to my question is that starting salaries have remained stagnant (for now), but cost of education has increased. I know of therapists with 5 years experience still not cracking 70k in both rural and urban places (hospital system)

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
You also have to factor in saturation. I live in an area with 4 DPT programs, and several of my classmates accepted a 55K starting salary to stay in the area.

HH Physical Therapist job - FTS Therapy Services - San Antonio, TX

This is fairly common in SA... Laredo makes even more from what I understand.