Applying to PT school with low GPA (2.66)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jn7771992

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I recently graduated from college last December and I'm applying to several PT schools in Texas to become a PT. I've been wanting to become a PT since my sophomore year of college. Unfortunately, my GPA is really low due to changing majors and it took me 5.5 years to graduate with a BS degree in Kinesiology. I volunteered in several different PT clinics (Outpatient, Inpatient, Nursing homes, Sports Medicine) with 222 observation hours. I'm looking for jobs as PT tech/aide and I'm studying the GRE right now and taking the test in April. Now I'm really nervous since my chances of getting in are slim due to a low GPA. I need some advice on what to do at this point? How can I get through this without the stress and constant anxiety and worrying about my future?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

If I were you I'd definitely retake a lot of those courses you didn't do very well in to at least bring up your GPA to a 3.0. That's the minimum requirement for pretty much every school. I would also look into programs that take your highest grade for classes you've retaken. I think you have plenty of observation hours so I wouldn't worry too much about that. Just be sure to do very well on the GRE and bring up that GPA! Good luck!

Reactions: 3 users
Jay laid it out for you perfectly. You must meet each school's admission requirements to be considered for admission, and most schools list a minimum GPA of 3.0 as one of their requirements.

I would suggest taking a year to retake prerequisite courses and getting no less than A's. This would prove to Admissions that you are serious about being a PT and that you would be able to handle the coursework in PT school.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)