General Admissions & OTCAS Applying to Hofstra and could really use some insight

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chevy1957

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone as the name of this thread states I need some major insight. I'm currently looking into applying to Hofstra Universities Occupational Therapy school for Fall of 2018. I'm looking to get my pre-reqs done along with the volunteer hours that I need however I'm starting to have my doubts.

My undergrad degree is in accounting of all things and when I graduated close to 4 years ago my gpa wasn't that great it was a 2.67.

After doing my research I'm finding that OT school is very competitive and it's very difficult to get into with programs taking 20 to maybe 30 students a year at most.

I'm at a point in my life where I really don't have time to waste and don't want to waste time. What I mean by that is I don't want to spend all of this summer, the fall, the winter, and the spring getting the pre-reqs and volunteer hours done but be told no at the end of the whole year of pursing this when I could have been spending that time pursing other things that could potentially get me ahead in life.

Just what exactly am I up against here? Anyone who could help point me in the right direction would seriously be appreciated! Thanks everyone

Members don't see this ad.

It took my two tries to get into school. I underestimated how competitive it was to get into school the first year and only did the bare minimum requirements (i.e. Volunteer hours). Needless to say, I was rejected from all schools.

In the gap year, I went above and beyond in terms of volunteer hours but also applied to more schools.

I wish I had not underestimated the competitiveness that first year but I suppose I learned more about the profession and grew to love it even more. That insight also helped me improve my personal statement.