apply this cycle or gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I am a current junior in undergrad who is in the midst of deciding whether I should apply this cycle or take a gap year to do more research. I feel (and correct me if I’m wrong) that my application is pretty solid, except for my GPA and the fact that I haven’t solidified which PhD program I’d apply to. The pros and cons I see for each option are:

Apply this upcoming cycle:
Pros— save time
Cons— lower GPA since they won’t see my senior grades

Take a gap year:
Pros— chance to apply with 3.8+ GPA, experience another research field
Cons— extra time

I’ve put a lot of thought into whether a research-focused MD or an MD/PhD is better for my career goals, and after talking with both MD and MD/PhD researchers and students, I’ve decided on MD/PhD. My PI is a physician scientist, and I’ve enjoyed seeing the connection between shadowing him in the clinic and the research I’m working on. I don’t think I’d be satisfied doing 100% clinical work or 100% research, but need to have a balance between each.

Quick summary of my application:
GPA- 3.75 with upward trend
MCAT- 514
possibly URM (if being LGBT counts, not sure)

Research Experience:
-translational Immunology research, the last two years being very independent and collaborative with other students and post docs, 15-20 hours/week during school year and 40 hours/week during summers (3 years)
-published 4 papers (one first author), multiple posters, contributing author on talks
-not necessarily research, but I worked in a Clinical Diagnostic lab (9 mo)

Extracurricular/Leadership:
-college Calculus tutor (2 years)
-co-founder and president of a club which serves kids at Children’s Hospital (2.5 years)
-treasurer for my college student government (1 year)
-volunteer at an urban non-profit health center (1 year)