Anyone know any year-long (approximately) programs to get clinical or research experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YossarianLives

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
to give you a little background, I am a nontraditional student that has worked in education and is about 9 years out of my undergrad. I took my pre-med reqs a la carte at a local university. I just got my MCAT score, and am very happy, as I can apply with a 3.9ish GPA and a 522 MCAT, hurray!

The major hole on my application is clinical and research experience. I've decided to take an additional year off to bolster my experience, and now I need to find a way to do that. I am based in the DC area, but I am not tied down geographically. I have started to reach out to local docs about shadowing + volunteer positions.

But someone mentioned to me that there might exists some extended opportunities that exist that I could apply for to go work for somewhere between 6 months and a year that would be a great experience before applying to medical school. I know my question is somewat vague - even I don't know exactly what I mean, but I was curious if anyone has any insight on this.

I was browsing the NIH website for instance, but seeing as I am not a recent grad, it didn't seem like I qualify for anything there!

Members don't see this ad.

I would browse the local universities' (HU,GW, Georgetown, Catholic) prehealth websites. They sometimes post temporary research/clinical opportunities in the area. Also check out Children's, MedStar and any other local hospitals. I work in the area and I was upfront about my time commitment and they understood this was temporary situation