Any Paramedics out there?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medic741

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there! Wanted to hear from some previous paramedics who went the DO route, what was it like making the transition to physician/medical student? Any advice/thoughts for a medic about to start medical school is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey there! Wanted to hear from some previous paramedics who went the DO route, what was it like making the transition to physician/medical student? Any advice/thoughts for a medic about to start medical school is greatly appreciated!
I was an EMT for 8 years. Feel free to PM me if you want.

I was a paramedic for a while prior to med school. The transition was harder than I had anticipated, but a lot of other things were easier or less stressful. It's hard to offer advice without knowing your specific question, but just enjoy the experience and stay humble. Your experience is useful in specific settings (airways, for example) but you'll learn there is a huge gulf between being a paramedic and a physician. Don't be that person that acts like they know it all.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I was an EMT for 5 years before med school, most of it full time with a busy service.

You'll have a leg up speaking to patients, and maybe in cardio and pulmonary physiology, but I would say that for 90% of M1 and M2 you'll be in the same boat as everyone else. From what I hear, it makes your EM rotations easier as well. I think the biggest advantage is actually having an idea of what working in a health care setting is like, so you're unlikely to hit 3rd year rotations and suddenly realize that you actually hate seeing patients or something like that.