Any other Natives around here?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RTchill

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I feel like I rarely see Native American applicants on here, looking for some solidarity.

And also, a question: I'd really like to apply to both Oklahoma and New Mexico, but I know they have a pretty extreme in-state bias. I am a TX resident, do you think there would be some leniency there since I am from a neighboring state and Native? I'm hoping to work with IHS down the road, which could very possibly land me in OK or NM in the future. Thoughts?

Good luck everybody!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not native but I'm a supporter. You are fortunate to be from texas but you should get love from all but the most "in state" preference schools.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Not Native but buy the MSAR to give you a perspective. Honestly, both places are In-state strong so it's not worth your time. Honestly, only apply if you are eager to go there. I would say NM might give some preference because NM has a sizable Native population. Note also that NM's med will require that you have all prerequisites finished before applying, except B-Chem and O-Chem; a 400/4000 level Biochemistry, and as an OOS apply early decision. Moreover, if your parents have degrees from any UT schools, then you qualify for U Tennessee at Nashville's Med school (I suggest apply for it only because they don't have a secondary essay).As @sb247 has previously mentioned, focus on the Texan state schools and private schools. You're so lucky to be a Tejano... so much better than being a New Yorker :unsure:

Best of luck!

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm Native and a med student.

If you ever have questions, don't hesitate to PM me.