Anxiety and the surgeon

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

the 12thman

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wanted to see what the communities thoughts are...

My situation...

5th year surgical subspecialty resident (last year in program). Good standing in program. I'm not the best, but I'm pretty sure I'm not the worst.

Clinic. Consults. Never an issue. I've been told I'm a safe physician and surgeon. No one has ever questioned my professionalism or clinical competency.

The problem...

The night before BIG procedures, I can't sleep well. I perseverate on getting stuck at key points of the procedure. Feel jittery, unable to concentrate.

If I know about a big case (even if 2-4 weeks from current date), my anxiety and symptoms kick into high gear. Sometimes, I'm secretly happy if something happens and a big case cancels.

Intraop - if things are going smoothly, I enjoy operating, get through no problem. When things aren't going well, or if I'm stuck, begin to feel a sense of "panic". Sweating. Impending sense of doom.

What I've done so far...

Been seeing a social worker. PRN Ativan (not much at all, probably 0.5 mg 1-2x per week). In cases, I've tried deep breathing while patient is being prepped. I've taken a step back from the patient, packed the field if bleeding and done some brief meditating/deep breathing before diving back in.

I feel like I have a strong social network. I'm committed to taking care of people. I just hate the anxiety I get before bigger surgical cases. Wanted to hear what people have gone through or seen. I'm too far along to "choose another specialty". I love my specialty.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Have you tried an SSRI or propranolol?