Another student loan repayment story here with a twist.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

igap

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My story is pretty simple. I finished my plastic surgery residency and fellowship a few years back. I graduated with 225K in student debt, and 75K mortgage debt.

I had/have all of the usual expenses, including kids, cars (though they are paid for), living in an expensive city. In my third year of practice I had an opportunity to take extra call at a busy trauma center for about 15 days per month. This call was by myself with no resident support, and no other help. I did this call in addition to my normal call load and was basically taking 20-22 days of call per month all the while running a busy practice.

I did this for about a year and made was able to set aside about 300K after taxes, before my family life nearly crumbled. I also physically was reaching my breaking point. So, after that one year I dropped the extra call, and went back to a normal life.

So.... 300K. Sitting in a bank account. What to do with it? Pay off my 300K debt? Well, after some basic analysis I decided to use the money to invest in securities for the long-term. My student debt was consolidated long ago at about 3%, and my mortgage is also at 3.3%. I am a self-taught investor who has been a stock investor since the 5th grade, so I constructed a dividend aristocrat portfolio that had a starting yield of 3.4%, and put the entire 300K into that. After the last few years of annual dividend increases and dividend reinvestment, my annual dividends being reinvested now exceed my loan payments. Arbitrage at its simplest.