Anesthesia residency situation. Please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anesthesia1567

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an anesthesia resident in a malignant program. I have tried multiple times to get feedback from PD and staff but all have been very vague with nonspecific complaints. PD has told me to to really consider switching specialities. However, I am in still in good standing. I am very passionate and committed to anesthesia with plans of pursing a Pain fellowship. I am trying my best not to let this situation deter me. Ideally, I would like to switch anesthesia residency programs (and I know of an open spot), but I understand it is difficult to do so without my program's LOR (which I am afraid she will not be willing to write).

My other option is to do PM&R and hope I can get into a Pain fellowship. I know my last option is to tough it out and continue in this program, but I am afraid I will not get a letter from my current PD when the time comes to apply to Pain fellowship. I am not sure what to do in this situation and what the odds are that my PD would be willing to write a LOR for this open anesthesia spot given that I would also be happier being closer to family. Thanks for all your help in advance. I really appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

What year are you?

Here's something to know, it is very very VERY hard to fire a resident. Short of premeditated murder of a patient, I may make an argument that a resident almost never gets fired for "general complaints". Trust me, alot of my attendings couldn't stand me for many reasons I won't share here.

Here's where I'll give you some advice.