Medical An Internal Medicine Resident Shares Her Experience and Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

This interview is the latest in an Accepted blog series featuring interviews with medical school applicants and students, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look at top medical schools and the med school application process. And now, introducing Shannon Tosounian…

Accepted: We’d like to get to know you! Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad?

Shannon: I never know what to say when people ask me my hometown! Having lived the first ~11 years of my life in a tiny rural town in West Virginia before moving to Los Angeles, California, I’ve experienced the best of two very different areas of the US. My undergrad and graduate degrees were both completed at UCLA (Go Bruins!) I studied physiology for both my bachelors and masters degrees. During undergrad I was also dedicated to playing on the Women’s Rugby team, an experience that truly changed my life. During my masters I did research in exercise interventions in obese young men, which really shaped the way I approach medicine to this day, seeing the value in preventive care and lifestyle modification as a form of medicine. I have three amazing brothers, all of whom live in California, and I miss them every day now that I’m back on the east coast.

Accepted: Where did you go to med school? Where are you currently completing your residency?