AMA about Contract Job searches/Contract Negotiations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VA Hopeful Dr

Administrator
Volunteer Staff
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Over in the attending section, we get lots of questions from new attendings about job searches, contract negotiations, and all sorts of stuff related to finding first/new jobs. Since that part of SDN is fairly restricted, it was suggested that we start a similar thread in a more open area where it could be useful. Especially since new grads are well-known for lacking business experience when it comes to employment.

Some background: I'm a family doctor who finished residency in 2013. I'm on my 3rd job since then, starting a 4th in November and a 5th in May (don't tell the 4th about that one). I am not a lawyer nor anything approaching one so don't take anything here as legal advice - just the limited wisdom of a guy who's been through lots of contract negotiations and had to find several jobs in a few short years.

A few general pieces of advice to get things rolling:

Get everything you can in writing. If its not in your contract, your employer doesn't have to do it. I started a new job once (urgent care) that was supposed to last 2 months before moving me to a regular outpatient practice. After 1 year, I was still in that urgent care because I didn't get that part in writing. Always get everything that you are promised in writing.

Assuming a decent job market (sorry Rad Onc), it rarely hurts to ask for exactly what you want. I've asked for (and gotten) smaller non-compete area, more days off, larger moving allowance, loan repayment. Heck, my first job even paid for my board exam. I've also been told No on those same things in the past and still ended up with the job.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 4 users