Altius vs. NextStep vs AAMC FL's 1 & 2

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bpoole9925

I will be a doctor!!!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So, I have noticed a lot of people asking about the differences and comparisons of Altius, NextStep (NS), and AAMC Full Length’s (FL's) but there has not been anyone who I have found that has experienced with all of them. Until now. This was my second time taking the MCAT and I wanted to make sure that I had enough resources to carry me to the finish line. Long story short, I bought all 10 Altius exams, all 10 NS exams and the entire AAMC practice package.

I studied for the MCAT a few hours a day over the course of about a year. I initially did content review by just doing old questions from pre2015 Berkeley Review Material and Princeton Review Workbook for a few months. I then wanted to take an MCAT every week to train myself for the grueling 6 hours it takes for the MCAT these days. I did not complete all of the MCAT's that I bought for numerous reasons. Family stuff. Work stuff. And honestly just didn't feel like taking one that week, was kind of feeling burned out.

The following are my Altius scores:

Test 1 = (C/P = 122)(CARS = 125)(B/B = 122)(P/S = 123) Scaled Score = 492
Test 2 = (C/P = 126)(CARS = 124)(B/B = 125)(P/S = 124) Scaled Score = 499
Test 3 = (C/P = 125)(CARS = 123)(B/B = 125)(P/S = 123) Scaled Score = 496
Test 4 = (C/P = 124)(CARS = 127)(B/B = 125)(P/S = 124) Scaled Score = 500
Test 5 = (C/P = 124)(CARS = 124)(B/B = 126)(P/S = 124) Scaled Score = 498
Test 6 = (C/P = 125)(CARS = 125)(B/B = 125)(P/S = 123) Scaled Score = 498

As you can tell the Altius scores were very defeating to me, but here are my assessments of them.