Advice on Applying to Schools in Canada and Possibly US schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ShotoKar5

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, thanks to anyone who takes the time to give me any advice. I'm currently a 3rd year neuroscience student and I'm just trying to set up realistic expectations for myself for applying for medical school. (Apologies for the longish post)

I haven't done as well as I would have liked to with GPA as my cGPA is sitting at around a 3.5 before I get my most recent semester marks in. I did about a 3.65 average in first year and my last semester but did lower in 2nd year. I'm planning on taking the MCAT this summer and have a lot of GPA boosters and easier classes for next year that I'm hoping to do close to 4.0 in and I also have my honour thesis. I have 3 years experience in MRI research and am looking to have at least one paper published before the end of the year and have a diverse background with international sports competitions and art competitions. I have also won scholarships to go to research conferences in Europe.

I would say my extracurricular experience is not bad so far, with some more experience in the medical field needed such as job shadowing and such but what I am really worried about is my GPA. I would really like to stick in Canada to do medical school but with the very competitive GPA's I'm not sure if I'm thinking realistically. Is it possible that if I do somewhat good on the MCAT I might have some chance at medical schools in Canada?

I am thinking about doing grad school because I have really enjoyed working in my lab since I have been in undergrad so I wouldn't be super disappointed if I didn't get into medical school my first try after my degree but it would be nice to also know if people think that the experience in grad school would help, if I applied again in the future.