Advice Needed: Should I Quit Pre-Med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

throwawayaccount321

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

As some background info I am going to be a senior this year and my majors are psychology and neuroscience. I come from a very stereotypical Asian background where growing up, my parents drilled into my head that if I don't become a doctor or an engineer I'm basically a total failure and a disappointment. I took computer science in high school and was pretty bad at it despite finding it interesting (I was an all A student, but barely got a B- or C+ in the class), so when I went to college I thought I'd give the pre-med route a try. Right now I'm having major doubts about my ability to even get into a good medical school, let alone survive 8 years of med school and residency.

For reference, here are my stats:
GPA: 3.68
MCAT: 503 (I can retake this, just not sure if it's worth retaking if I quit pre-med)
Extracurriculars: shadowing, volunteer work, mentoring/tutoring, but no research atm

As it is, I'm already freaking out about whether I even have what it takes to do significantly better on the MCAT again, as well as whether my GPA or EC's are even good enough. On top of all that, even if I am good enough to get into med school, I'm seriously debating about whether I can continue with this much stress for all of med school and residency (which I've heard so many horror stories about).

All around I'm just conflicted abut if this what I'm meant to do with my life. The problem is that if I drop pre-med for something else, I'll feel like I've wasted the last 3 years of my life. That absolutely terrifies me, knowing I've wasted all those years for nothing.