Advice for COMLEX III

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DO_Surgeon

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just registered for COMLEX III next month. I am a general surgery intern, and have had the majority of my non-surgical rotations. I just bought crush step 3 and the NMS q book. Anyone have any advice for studying (length of time, books, important topics, etc) What about the new computer format and how many questions do you need to pass?

Members don't see this ad.

I just took the exam this past monday. Not as much OB/GYN and PEDS as I suspected. Now, from what I understand, because the test is now computerized, it is random, so my test may be nothing like yours but I can at least tell you what mine focused on

1) Most peds were infants less than 2 years of age. And of course the little kids that refuse to $hit for their parents and you need to know why.
2) Lots of headache stuff, especially emergency situations
3) old farts where is what you did primary, secondary, or tertiary prevention?
4) My OMT questions all seemed to be thoracic sympathetic levels and rib techniques, I swear to you, not one sacrum question one mine
5) A lot of trick questons that are very poorly asked, but that is typical of COMLEX
6) Lots of questions where you start reading the question and you know what the patient has and what to do to treat it, but none of your multiple choice options match up or make any damn sense. Things you could perhaps do, but not really the gold standard
7) A lot of pregnant teens on mine that didn't want anybody knowing they were pregnant

For the test I studied----

1) USMLE 3 recall. Great book and has everything you need to pass this test minus OMT, just takes time to learn everything in it in detail
2) Savarese for OMT. Seemed to be all I needed to pass my test if only I actually learned the rib raising techniques