Addiction

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sciatica123

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey board. I was an Anesthesia resident that ran into some trouble in life and turned to drugs instead of handling my issues in a healthy responsible way. I was nearly finished with residency when I was caught, went to rehab and have been sober for a little over three years now. Have tried very hard to get back into residency, any residency, any specialty, with very little luck. Hundreds of applications, a few interviews and no success. I would love to finish an Anesthesia residency but I understand that is a very high mountain to climb. Any advice on how to get back into residency and any anesthesia programs that might be open to a recovering addict would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to inbox me as well.

Members don't see this ad.

I hope you can get a residency. I wouldn't hold your past against you. But I would caution you against applying for an anesthesia residency. It's just no ideal. Do you like psych? Or Ped's? Just a couple examples. I wish you luck.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I applaud you for getting clean, not an easy road.
If I can speak frankly....I think anesthesia is a bad idea for you. I've seen several colleagues get clean and relapse after coming back to the OR. The temptation is just too strong. I wish you the best of luck, sincerely.

Reactions: 2 users
Respectfully, you have zero chances of getting back into anesthesiology, or any other job that involves addictive substances. Nobody will take that liability. You yourself shouldn't wish for it either; a recovering alcoholic shouldn't take a job in a bar. ;)

Reactions: 1 users