Active Duty PA to MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SCHMITTIE120

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking for some insight on things to improve to be accepted to a MD/DO program

I am a active duty physician assistant (6 years of service) looking to apply to Medical school in the next 2 years (due to military commitments)

I have a 3.3 cGPA and a 3.2 sGPA. My PA school GPA was a 3.5. I have an old MCAT of 29 so I expect with some solid studying I could be in the same ballpark. I have 2 published articles and have presented case studies and a reasearch project at several military medicine symposiums. I have several hundred hours of volunteer work.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you in advance for your help

Members don't see this ad.

I don't have much to offer since you have a pretty good game plan, but fellow PA applying MD this cycle and just wanted to say good luck. Your gpa is a bit low so could take a couple courses to show recent coursework/motivation and bump the gpa a bit.
Also have you looked into lecom's pathway?

Members don't see this ad :)
Looking for some insight on things to improve to be accepted to a MD/DO program

I am a active duty physician assistant (6 years of service) looking to apply to Medical school in the next 2 years (due to military commitments)

I have a 3.3 cGPA and a 3.2 sGPA. My PA school GPA was a 3.5. I have an old MCAT of 29 so I expect with some solid studying I could be in the same ballpark. I have 2 published articles and have presented case studies and a reasearch project at several military medicine symposiums. I have several hundred hours of volunteer work.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you in advance for your help

Thanks for your service!