ACGME IM with only COMLEX?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jinxapotato

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello guys!

I am a freshly minted 3rd year DO student who just received my COMLEX. Got in the 610s, not amazing, but better than what I thought I'd get.
My goal is to get into an IM residency that offers the possibility of specializing in rheumatology, hence I would prefer if the program offers the fellowship in house. I am open to any geographical area, but I am an international student who would need a VISA (H1, J1).
I was wondering if I can get in a program like this with only my COMLEX, or do I still need to take my USMLE step 1? I did a few NBMEs and my score ranges from 230-240s, but all of my friends who took the real deal told me the real thing is totally different than NBME. Hence I am worried that if I bomb my USMLE step 1, I would do more harm than good...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Call and ask residency programs with rheum fellowships that seem interesting, they will give you the best answers. If you have time to study though, you should take the USMLE. You will probably do decently well with a 610 and NBMEs in that range. Getting 230s on step 1 will give you good options for residency if you apply broadly. (In before the DO real talk: you have no shot at elite programs)

Call and ask residency programs with rheum fellowships that seem interesting, they will give you the best answers. If you have time to study though, you should take the USMLE. You will probably do decently well with a 610 and NBMEs in that range. Getting 230s on step 1 will give you good options for residency if you apply broadly. (In before the DO real talk: you have no shot at elite programs)
Thanks for the reply! Yeah I understand the best I can hope for is mid tier university/better community programs, never even thought about the true elite programs lol!