ACGME case log questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drranjit

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new intern and I'm trying to log my first cases in the ACGME case log. I have a few questions:

1) Can you only log a case if you were specifically listed (on the brief op note/op note) as the assistant? There were a few cases in which I assisted but the attending did not list me at all (just shows the attending's name) so just wondering if I should not count them/log them

2) What's the "Case ID"? Is it the pt's MRN?

3) For resident role, I assume I will be "First assistant" most of my intern year. When is it appropriate to log a case as "Surgeon junior" vs. "First assistant" (seems like there may be some overlap?)

4) Finally, do I need to fill out the "Code" section (I assume they are referring to CPT codes)? Or do I just fill out the top part and ignore the "Code" section. If so, how would ACGME know what type of cases I logged?

Sorry about the questions, I'm new to this and want to make sure I fill everything out correctly.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Its a sham. Log whtever the heck you or your program wants

On a similar note, why are sleeve gastrectomies not a tracked case? Seems like a perfectly legitimate laparoscopic case.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was in a Whipple as an intern with an attending and a chief resident. Didn't even staple skin (let the med student do it), and with a bookwalter retractor I was basically just an observer - I logged it as first assist even though I "technically" could have logged it as surgeon junior.

The other annoying thing about the case log system is that if a 3 walks a 1 or a 2 through a case, the 1/2 can only log it as surgeon junior if the 3 doesn't log it.