Academic Nuclear Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tardis

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a 4th year medical student who is very much interested in nucs. I have interviews in combined programs as well as in solo nucs programs and rads programs.

I am very interested in nucs in particular because it seems the field as a whole is much more supportive of doing research than rads. If this is a priority, and my aim is to land an academic career in either nucs or rads imaging research, with some balance of clinical work as well, is it still a bad idea to go into the solo programs?

If my goal was private practice, I can see why I would listen to the fear mongering on this thread about the job market. Obviously dual training would be best, but I just want to know if that bias also exists for academic positions.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,

I'm a 4th year medical student who is very much interested in nucs. I have interviews in combined programs as well as in solo nucs programs and rads programs.

I am very interested in nucs in particular because it seems the field as a whole is much more supportive of doing research than rads. If this is a priority, and my aim is to land an academic career in either nucs or rads imaging research, with some balance of clinical work as well, is it still a bad idea to go into the solo programs?

If my goal was private practice, I can see why would listen to the fear mongering on this thread about the job market. Obviously dual training would be best, but I just want to know if that bias also exists for academic positions.

It seems that you have interviewed at a place for a position that does not exist.
You are clearly not a 4th year medical student, if you are an MS at all.
We don't have such thing as combined Rads and Nucs programs.