Academic career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Onkos

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my second year of Hem/Onc fellowship training at a program that does very little in terms of academia and research. Given my circumstances, what are some strategies to gain more experience for an academic career?

Members don't see this ad.

It's probably too late, but you need a strong mentor who will push you to get research done and presented/published.

If you want a true academic career (one with protected time for research, clinical, translational or basic and limited clinic/service time), you're going to need to pay for it yourself with grant funding. You're not going to get that without research, pubs/presentations and mentorship...and probably an extra year or two as a super-fellow/instructor after you finish fellowship.

If all you want is to be a FT non-tenure track clinician-educator in an academic setting, do some QI and teaching stuff now and you should be OK.

Apply to the many 1 or 2 year fellowships at places like MD Anderson. ie Leukemia fellowship etc, I know a few IMGs who have translated those opportunities into Academic careers coming out of community hem/onc programs.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you. I did look into advanced fellowships like leukemia/lymphoma and BMT. But my worry is that these programs might end up using fellows like mid-levels. However, there seems to be an investigational cancer therapeutics fellowship at MDACC which is focused on Phase I/II clinical trials. Does any of you have any advice/experience regarding such a program?