AAMC FL1 501. Test in 3 days

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DaRKsTar2300

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'd appreciate any advice for my situation asap!! I plan to go to an MD school and am aiming for the 508 on my real MCAT. I've been studying for 3 months consecutively and been improving slightly but I just took the official FL 1 a few days ago and got hit with a 501. My previous scores are listed in order:

Princeton:
Test 1: 497 (123/124/126/124)
Test 2: 495 (123/121/124/127)
Test 3: 498 (125/122/125/126)

Kaplan:
FL 1: 495 (125/123/123/124)
FL 3: 501 (124/123/127/127)
FL 4: 500 (126/122/127/125)

NS diagnostic: 508 (128/125/126/129) ... felt this was somewhat inflated when looking at raw score

AAMC sample: (66%/75%/64%/81%) ... I think the converter showed 507ish somewhere? but I'm aware that cars is easy on this section compared to real

AAMC FL1: 501 (126/123/127/125)

I know CARS is my weak point and I should've focused on that more. But my dilemma now is if I'm aiming for 508 is it worth taking my exam in a few days and getting it scored or voided? I signed up as close to the end of summer as possible seeing that I won't have to study during the semester. But If I have no choice, I'll have to work something out during my busy upcoming semester. I just don't know if its worth scoring and taking the chance and potentially living with a mid-500s and having to retake. Or if its better to hold off and take in only once when my practice tests get closer to my goal. I'm fine with retaking after a mediocre score if it doesn't affect my MD acceptances that much. Please help! This decision so close to the exam has been stressful af..

Members don't see this ad.

From my own experience, since you can't reschedule or refund, just take it. Go in with the confidence that you can do it.