A&P prereq question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jtb93

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm #6 on the waitlist for a program, but I'm gearing up to apply during the next cycle anyway. I originally took A&P at the 4-year university which I graduated from, but am considering taking it at a local tech school to boost my grade. The Wisconsin school systems have a "transfer wizard" app which shows course equivalencies between schools. The tech school A&P course fulfills credits for A&P at the university where I originally took it, but comes up as "Anatomy elective" at Wisconsin PT schools which I plan on applying to.

How picky are schools when it comes to situations like this? The tech course has the same name and almost verbatim class description as the university course, so I'm not sure why schools would not accept it. I brought this up to a couple schools, and the PD's said I have to check with the tech school's transfer advisor to see which class would fulfill this requirement.

I know this question seems confusing and it drones on, but I wanted to make sure I get my point across! Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Your best bet to be 100% sure is to email the advisors of the schools you want to apply to and include the course name and description. Also make sure there is a lab and it's a 4 credit course. I've seen schools that say classes from community college qualify but not sure about a tech school. Contact PTCAS also since they're the ones that will be putting your GPAs together.

Thanks for the response. It is a 4 credit course with lab. I've contacted multiple schools, and most of them say the course will be fine. I was told it may not look as good as a retake at a 4-year institution, but a raised grade can't hurt.

Members don't see this ad :)