A guy in med school rejected me

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ogpfmpromos

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a senior in undergrad, just took the MCAT, and looking to get into med school after taking a gap year. I was talking to a guy who is about to start his first year at a tier 1 med school, and after some convo, he said he wasn't really looking for anything since he's about to start medical school. It's worrying me as a girl going into medicine because what if I never find anyone because no one has time for me. And its my first ever tragic experience with the plight of med students, if their lives are really that busy then maybe medicine isn't the career for me :(

UPDATE AFTER SEEING ALL THE RESPONSES: The support on SDN is so overwhelming, as are all the reality checks. I might've been too dramatic (I'm a theater minor) but this experience made me think that my dreams of having a family before I'm 30 would be crushed if I went to med school with people who had no interest in anything long term or we're already in relationships. For background, my mom was pregnant with me when she was taking her USMLE Step 3 and my parents happened to get matched together into the same hospital (Downstate Medical Center) so I guess I've idealized it, but it seems like the reality is changing and I think that's a bit hard for me to grasp. Plus, I've always wanted to marry a fellow doc because who else would understand what I'm going through better than someone who is going through the same thing with me.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: