6 month study schedule while working full time? Advice!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wrigley_260

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone!
So after months of putting off the big exam because of nerves, I'm finally buckling down and committing to studying for it. I've tried searching the forums for some advice, but wanted to create a new thread for some updated answers since you guys are so helpful when it comes to this topic.

I plan to start studying within the next week for a projected Jan exam date, and will be applying next cycle (in the hopes that everything goes well). I graduated in 2016 and work 9-5 in clinical research, and have no problem dedicating a few hours a day towards studying. I am really active in a few volunteer organizations outside of work, but I realize that I may have to sacrifice my involvement in them during studying. I also will be taking one class in from Sep-Dec after work (I was lucky enough to receive a full coverage employee scholarship at the institution I work for for their SPS pre-health program which I would complete before applications (5-6 upper level science courses), but the only catch is I would need to start the program this year or lose the financial aid).

I'm getting a little overwhelmed planning everything, so I wanted to see what those who studied while working full time had to say. I plan on finishing all content review by the time I start my class in the Fall, so I can focus on practice problems/solidifying concepts for the last few months with the added responsibility. Does this seem doable? Help!

Members don't see this ad.

I studied for MCAT while working 40 h/week. I quit most of my volunteering and did not take classes during that time. I would be worried about how much of a time commitment the one course is.