4th year DO student low boards score- chances of matching peds?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

respeds08

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I'm a fourth year DO student with poor board scores. I passed both COMLEX I and II on the first try, but barely did so (passing on comlex is 400).
COMLEX I- 412
COMLEX II- 402
C.S.- Passed
(Didn't take USMLE)
I am a poor test taker, no doubt, but I'm not saying that as an excuse.
I have a ton of volunteer activities, have presented a dozen times, 2 research presentations, stellar LORs and High Honors in all my clinical rotations except for two of them (9/11 rotations were high honors)

Question: I've been offered one interview, which went well, but haven't heard from other programs as of yet. A) Should I go into panic mode? B) How can I make the best of this situation?

P.S. Please keep your comments positive. I hope you'll post useful advice and not use the space to pass judgements.
Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

How many places did you apply to? If you already interviewed I'm assuming you applied AOA, did you apply to any ACGME DO heavy schools?

I'm a 4th year DO student too, so I don't really know what I'm talking about, but I'm in a similar, though not as bad, situation and my plan is to start calling some programs to express interest (don't know how well this will work) at the end of next week or the week after. I'm trying to be hopeful because it's still early and some jerk at the institution where I am currently rotating was kind enough to complain that she "only had 25 interviews so far" so hopefully those people will eventually realize that 25 interviews for peds residency is unnecessary and will cancel some and we will get a few more.