3.45 cGPA, 3.4 sGPA, 501 MCAT Asian CA Resident: What DO Schools???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

daveed2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I just received my MCAT score. My stats are: 3.45 cGPA, 3.4 sGPA, 501 MCAT
I'm a CA resident, Asian male, Biomedical Engineering.
Have ~150 hours of hospital volunteering, two research (no publication), MD shadowing experience, no DO shadowing yet.
What are my chances and can you recommend what DO schools I should apply? I am thinking to turn in my app soon in this week or early next week.
Also, I am applying to MD schools as well (~15 schools with fee waiver).

Members don't see this ad.

Your stats are slightly below those of the average Asian DO matriculant. Get a DO letter, and apply as broadly as possible to DO programs.

Don't apply to MD programs. You have fee waivers, but it would still be a massive waste of time; this is time you could spend on your DO applications. The average Asian MD matriculant has a 511 MCAT and 3.7 GPA. Don't waste your time; you're not going to become an MD with your current stats, unless (1) you go to an international medical program, or (2) you are fluent in Spanish and get into a Puerto Rican MD program.

If you don't play your cards right, you may end up having to re-apply next cycle after retaking the MCAT; that 501 is going to hurt you.

Reactions: 1 users
Obviously don't apply to the schools that favor high MCAT scores. AZCOM is the one that readily comes to mind. Your GPA is definitely competitive but like the poster above said you may need to retake the MCAT. Target the newer schools and you should be fine.

Members don't see this ad :)
Your stats are slightly below those of the average Asian DO matriculant. Get a DO letter, and apply as broadly as possible to DO programs.