2015-2016 Michigan State University Application Thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ismet

Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Space reserved for prompt.

Please PM the essays or lack thereof to me when the secondary is available and I will update this.

Good luck to everyone applying! :luck:

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently a student here and am just finishing up M1. I interviewed applicants last year and plan to continue this year. My campus is Grand Rapids, and I'm happy to help you in any way that I can. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
Is this the application thread for the DO school or MD?..or both?

Hello,

Can anyone tell me if I have a chance at this school?

MCAT: 29 (PS: 10 / VR: 8 / BS: 11)
cGPA: 3.92
sGPA: 3.85

Thanks

Forgot to add: I am Canadian

Your GPA looks good, but the verbal score on the MCAT is a red flag in my eyes. I'm not sure how MSU feels about international students, either. Also, stats aren't everything - most of the time med schools want someone who's well-rounded in all aspects of their app, so if you have good extracurriculars/research/clinical experience, then I would maybe apply, but all in all I would consider retaking the MCAT to get a better score.

@Pacna can you tell me about the LMU program here? I'm really undecided on whether or not I should apply to it.

Also, is anyone else pre-writing this secondary? I'm struggling with the 3rd essay question from last year (besides love for science and desire to help people, what's another motivating factor for pursing a career in medicine?). It feels like every motivating reason I have can fit into the category of helping people lol.

Last edited:
@Pacna can you tell me about the LMU program here? I'm really undecided on whether or not I should apply to it.